Happy Father’s Day

Happy father’s day to all the fathers out there! I don’t subscribe to this mother’s day/father’s day business, but this father’s day happens to be my first as a father, so ok, it’s a bit special!

Lots of happenings on campus in the past 2 weeks – elections for club presidents, section representatives, subsequent selections for club posts, inter-section sports competitions, CAS info session, Dean’s ‘Take Charge’ address, corporate speakers sessions/interactive sessions, blood donation camp, and of course parties! We had a huge ‘Bring down the class average’ party on Friday, or so I am told, as I missed it! I wanted to attend it but probably because of my blood donation earlier in the day, I conked out by 11 PM. Oh well, to make up, I’ll attend the ‘Bring back up the class average’ parties in our LRC this week! Mid-terms are round the corner, so time to behave like good students. What else… I became the Section A representative for Academic Affairs. As an aside, my study group now has an academic rep (yours truly) and the SLC (Student Life Council) director, known as ‘party’ shah, talk about diversity within the study group!! Academic reps work as part of the Academic Affairs Council student body with the Academic Administration of ISB to deal with all academic matters of the students. I have always been a ‘good student’ type, so I feel that I can be a good academic rep.

What else? The term 2 subjects are quite interesting – competitive strategy, marketing decision making, global economics and decision models & optimization. A feast for a hungry student! So much to learn in such short time, I wish we had more time to learn! I am beginning to sense that I am entering this new world, the ‘MBA’ world! New thoughts, new fundas, new vocabulary, new attitude, new bs (??). And all these fundas mesh very well with each other; they are part of the same ‘arsenal’. Statistics keeps popping up in all subjects, so does microeconomics, strategy classes have marketing fundas and vice-versa. It’s pretty cool, actually. OK, enough reverie, gotta get back to my assignments!

(dated: June 21st, ’09)

Leave a comment