On the eve of Term-2

I am about 2 hrs away from attending my first class of Term-2 (Marketing Decision Making). Ah, the sense of anticipation! It’s the same feeling I had when I was getting closer and closer to getting on the rollercoaster during my several six flags visits in the US. It’s going to be fun! Scary, but fun! I believe Term-2 is a much faster and scarier rollercoaster than Term-1. It better be! I am getting hooked to these things now! Term-1 was a great start. The ISB life has totally grown on me, now I want more! I enjoyed the term break, but maybe I am surprising myself by saying this, the break was too long! It broke the momentum. (Have I become a masochist!?)
To be fair, I had a good term break. I am a family man (wife and son), plus I am from Hyderabad, so I took the time to spend time with family. It’s a luxury I can’t afford once the term gets going. Ok, coming back to my anticipation about term-2, I wonder how good the faculty is going to be? I know they’ll be good, but how good? Will anyone be as good as Prof. Mohan who taught us accounting in Term1? That would be awesome!! Heck, what more does a student want than good teachers!? I also wonder what new words (read jargon) will get added to my vocabulary. Some of the Term-1 winners were MR=MC, incentivize, Nash equilibrium and brand positioning statement. I’ve done some introspection and want to make some changes to how I spend Term-2 – lesser time in the LRC (Learning Resource Center, i.e. library) and more involvement in other activities, including making friends. I met a lot of great people but I haven’t made any real friends. Guess friendships take time and can’t be rushed. By putting out my plans, now I can revisit this blog in mid-July and check if I did act on the things I planned while standing in line, or did I forget everything once I got on the coaster!

(dated june 8th, ’09)

Tags:

Leave a comment