Leisurely Thoughts

The campus is so peaceful, so quiet. I am sitting in the library and it’s so calm, so serene – the sun rays streaming through the windows, gentling landing on the empty tables and chairs and providing natural warmth to the ambience; the books, so full of knowledge and wisdom, sleeping in their racks. The only sounds I hear are my laptop’s muffled hum of the fan, my typing and the occasional footsteps (slow, leisurely, wandering footsteps). Ah, the campus is such a calming, beautiful place during the term break!

There’s no line at the cafeteria during lunch time. In fact, yesterday, he took our order token with him to the kitchen and our order was brought to our table! No shouting of “token number 7!” What a luxury! No line at Sipz (the new juice bar). I tried another interesting concoction there – carrot, orange, honey and flaxseeds. It was pretty good actually. You bump into the odd one or two students loitering around. What are you doing on campus? I ask. It’s either the Marketing Research project, or the exams which extended till Friday (Global Operations) for them, giving them hardly any time to travel, so they stuck around.

My son had a field day yesterday. He was running around in the Atrium, in the hallways – all that clean, empty space for himself, shouting out and listening to his echo. I wonder if we adults would also do the same when we see open spaces but for our conditioned behavior! My cousins visited me yesterday, and as expected, they were greatly impressed by the ISB campus (it never fails!) I tell them, somewhat woefully, that yes, ISB has all the facilities in the world, just no time to enjoy them!

Term-6 is beginning tomorrow. Wow, term-6! And then only 2 more terms to go after that! These days, I’ve already started to visualize April 3rd (our graduation day!). But there’s so much more to accomplish before then; much more to enjoy, much more to internalize. I am fully aware that this type of extended freedom that I am having at ISB (freedom from work, from the mundane outside world) is something that I will never again have until I retire! And so yet again, I vow to myself to enjoy this freedom, one day at a time, till April 3rd. Amen!

Tags:

Leave a comment